Tag: databases

Database of the week: Taylor & Francis

Daren Mansfield / / digital learning, University Library

Everyone may have a favourite database to use when they embark on their research journey. What are your favourite go-to databases when you receive an assignment? FT.com? Statista? Emerald Insight? Or…Taylor & Francis? It’s not even (strictly speaking) a business database, but I use Taylor & Francis on a regular basis to check if there’s anything written about a particular topic in business; whether a research idea is viable in other words. It hasn’t failed me yet! Like this one entitled ‘Bridging corporate social responsibility and social impact assessment’ in the journal Impact Assessment and Project Appraisal. Added to that, the accessibility feature of an immersive reader (a text-to-speech tool) is the cherry on top of the cake: I can scroll over the article and play it back without even looking at the screen, saving physical tiredness (you may find reading electronic material like eBooks or electronic journal articles increases eye strain). Such an aid alleviates weariness and sustains periods of concentrated research.

You can search the database by going to the University of Lincoln Library website (library.lincoln.ac.uk) > Find > Databases > T > Taylor & Francis.

Screenshot of an article entitled 'Bridging corporate social responsibility and social impact assessment'

Warc.com database factsheet

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

Warc.com is, of course, the one-stop shop for advertising and marketing research which covers a vast range of data and information useful for all assignments. The database is found via library.lincoln.ac.uk > Find > Databases > W > Warc.com. Case studies are the most practical way of linking theory to practice. Theory, when treated in isolation, does not serve its true purpose without being tested in the real world. Warc.com is able to show you whether it does work or not.

WARC database factsheet by Daren Mansfield on Scribd

Adding Nexis to our Libguides

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

Further to last week’s exuberant announcement that we have added the Nexis database to our range of databases, I have added it to my libguides:

Library guides: Accountancy and Finance, Advertising and Marketing, Economics, Events Management, International Business, Modern Languages, Tourism.

Capturenex

New Scoring Model & Credit Limits on Fame

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

Capturefame

The scoring model and credit limit system on our database, FAME, is more predictive system which incorporates recent economic data (2010- 2013) and credit scoring analytics. The credit score measures “the likelihood of company insolvency in the next 12 months”  which is then transformed into a credit limit based on the financial strength of the target company. The credit limit recommends “the total amount of credit outstanding at any one time on the target company” that is based on a portfolio of 3,833,672 companies covering:

  • Group, Full accounts and Medium sized companies
  • Small companies
  • Total exemption full
  • Total exemption small
  • Balance sheet

Each development sample was statistically analysed to determine the most predictive parameters to be used in each scorecard. The final credit limit is obtained after adjusting the initial credit limit according to the financial health and default risk of a Company. Scores and limits are market leading based on more recent economic data statistics and analytics so is judged more predictive and accurate than the previous model. New parameters in the scorecard include:

  • Directors history and associate interest performance
  • Auditors qualification
  • Improved CCJ analysis
  • New treatment of negative
  • Shareholders funds
  • Improved financial ratio analysis

There’s also a webinar  from Ray Ruffels (who might sound like an airline pilot making an announcement) who is the Director of Information at Jordans.

Meet the dean: Maury Peiperl, Cranfield School of Management

Daren Mansfield / / digital learning

As part of a series about how Business schools operate in the modern economy, The Financial Times site (library.lincoln.ac.uk > resources > databases > FT) publishes many interesting interviews. In this video, Pro-Vice Chancellor Maury Peiperl from the Cranfield School of Management talks about the need to create entrepreneurial space, with business schools working with owners of small businesses, how work meshes with the curriculum. He discusses his experience of executives and their ongoing ‘need to learn’, how blended learning supports those in business still able to study.  It’s also worth checking out the MBA blog too for further insight.

5 easy steps to a successful essay plan

Daren Mansfield / / digital learning

You may be wondering how to can plan an assignment using our library resources? There is an easy way to design an essay structure using our library search engine, Find it at Lincoln. Using themed searches 5 or 6 times (depending on the length of your assignment) you can email relevant journal articles and save them on your student profile. These folders could become the main body of your assignment, with each folder representing a paragraph. Your introduction would simply be an explanation of what you are going to cover, whilst your conclusion is the summary of your reading.

Euromonitor database video

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

At the University of Lincoln we have many relevant programmes where the database Euromonitor International is such a key resource such as Business and Marketing, International Business, International Tourism Business, Human Resources, Logistics, MBA and Social Research. In addition to these courses other departments such as Lincoln School of Film & Media, National Centre for Food Manufacturing (NCFM), Sport and Exercise Science are seeing the benefit of using this resource.

Euromonitor has access to 80 countries for both Industries and Countries and Consumers, and cross-comparable statistics as well as different types of analysis so why not take a look at the video outlining some of these features.

Euromonitor can be found via library.lincoln.ac.uk > resources > databases > E > Euromonitor.

Capture euro

 

Video on searching for journal articles using databases

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

This new video, produced by Helen Williams (Academic Subject Librarian for work-based distance learners & Law), will help anyone wishing to research databases to find relevant journal articles. Highly recommended!

What new books are in the Library?

Daren Mansfield / / Library Information

At the University of Lincoln we are fortunate enough to use Talis reading lists which links books in our collection to specific modules, enabling students to easily identify where print books are located in the library as well as giving them access to journal articles and ebooks off campus. Likewise, on this blog I like to showcase the past three months’ worth of newly acquired books that support the Business School.  This interactive reading list is updated every week to illustrate what new titles and additional copies are available in the Library, so it’s worth checking the Business Librarian blog regularly.

 

Capturebooks15

 

capturenew books

International student library guide

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

We are pleased to launch the Library Guide for International Students (for business students) which covers matters like finding books and journals and links to the English Language Centre, a library glossary and frequently asked questions. The helpguide section contains interviews with academic staff on their top tips for academic writing is being developed, and further videos will appear over the next few weeks and months as well as being announced on this blog!

Capture22

 

 

 

 

Finding company information

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

This PowerPoint video includes two videos (FAME & Marketline) that we’ve produced (in Camtasia) on finding company information. Based on an imaginary assignment on British Airways PLC and the UK airline industry, the video is designed to show students how to find financial statements, company profiles and management tool analyses. There is a full screen option on the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.

Drop-in sessions in Business & Law building

Daren Mansfield / / Academic Subject Librarians

Do you need any help with your research (finding quality journal articles, searching relevant databases, etc) or Harvard Referencing? Why not come along to our drop-in session based opposite Starbucks on the ground floor of the Business & Law building.  We are happy to see you.

New database page

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

As part of a review of our electronic databases we have designed a New database page listing our subscribed resources, making it easier to navigate.  This page remains in the same location as the previous database page (library.lincoln.ac.uk > more resources > databases).

Feel free to add the link to your favourites: http://guides.library.lincoln.ac.uk/databases to conduct your research more effectively.

Database page

 

 

Finding tourism research on Passport-Euromonitor International

Daren Mansfield / / Databases

If you are researching tourism then Passport-Euromonitor International (formerly GMID) would be a great place to find the latest research and statistics. Suppose you are looking for Tourism data in Brazil using this database then go to the Library homepage (library.lincoln.ac.uk > more resources > databases >GMID (Passport-Euromonitor International). Please view this one-minute video on how to find some research on the emerging trends of Brazilian tourism.

;